Sponsored By
Clare Goldsberry

April 28, 2016

3 Min Read
Plastics Pioneers Association adds four new members

The Plastics Pioneers Association (PPA; McHenry, IL) inducted four new members at its spring meeting in Tampa, FL. Two of the four new inductees are women: Aline Alroy and Maureen Steinwall. They were inducted alongside Kenneth Pawlak and John Jungjohann.

Aline Alroy earned a CPA with a BA from Princeton University and an MBA from Rutgers University. Since 1986, she has worked for High-Technology Corp., a manufacturer of polymer filtration systems in Hackensack, NJ, in various sales and marketing positions. She is currently the company’s Vice President of Sales. Alroy has served as a member and executive member of the SPI Equipment Council, as well as the NPE 2012 and 2015 Operations Committee. On the community level, she is co-founder and secretary/treasurer of the Princeton Alumni Viewpoints, a not-for-profit organization that helps sponsor a student-run magazine, brings external lecturers to campus and supports the activities of the Witherspoon Society.

John Jungjohann completed a BS degree in business administration at Rochester Institute of Technology, and began his career in plastics in 1990 as a regional salesman for Huntsman Chemical. After several promotions he moved on to the Hinds Co. as President in 1996. In 2002, Jungjohann joined Entec Resins as Business Director, then went on to the M. Holland Co. as Vice President of Sourcing and Logistics in 2006. After a brief period as Vice President of Nexus Resin Group, Jungjohann took a role with Flow Polymers as Global Plastics Business Director in 2010. In 2012, he accepted a position at PolyOne in Cleveland as Director of Supply, and since 2014 he has been Vice President of Commercial Strategy at PRP Recycling. Throughout his career Jungjohann has served on several committees in the the Association of Plastics Recyclers, National Association of PET Container Resources, SPI and SPE.

Maureen Steinwall received a BS in accounting from Iowa State University, a bachelor’s in business education and an MBA in operations management from the University of Minnesota, an OPM from Harvard Business School and a PhD in organizational management and leadership from Capella University. She began her career in 1975 as an independent CPA, then joined the Micro-Switch Division of Honeywell Inc. in 1981. In 1983, Dr. Steinwall became owner and President of Steinwall Inc., a full-service injection molding and tooling company based in Coon Rapids, MN. Currently, Dr. Steinwall serves on the boards of Fabri-Kal Corp., Mercy Unity Hospital Foundation and SPI. She is also active on the boards of 23 other schools, universities, local businesses and chambers of commerce. She has been widely recognized for her achievements in the industry including her induction in the Plastic Industry’s Hall of Fame in 2015, and the Minnesota Women Business Owner’s Hall of Fame. She has also been honored as U.S. Plastic Processor of the Year by SPI and Plastics News, and received the SPI Excellence in Employee Training and Excellence in Engineering awards from SPI.

Kenneth Pawlak earned a BSE in bioengineering and biomedical engineering from the University of Illinois at Chicago and a master’s degree in business administration and management from Lake Forest Graduate School of Management. He also is a certified plastics technologist with SPE. He began his career in 1988 as Senior Principal Engineer at Baxter Healthcare and moved on to AKSYS in 1994, taking a role as Manager of Plastics Engineering. In 2002, Pawlak started his own consulting company, Pawlak Plastics Inc., advising clients in plastics, medical, commercial and industrial product design, development and root cause failure analysis. In 2010, he joined Natus Medical Inc. as Plastics and Mechanical Engineering Manager, a position he still holds.

Pawlak is the holder of 23 patents (three of which are pending). He’s been involved in more than 35 successful new-product launches, been recognized twice by R&D magazine with the R&D Top 100 award and received the Innovator of the Year award from Injection Molding magazine. Pawlak has been a member of SPE since 1974 and has served as chairman of both the Product Design & Development and Rotational Molding divisions.

About the Author(s)

Clare Goldsberry

Until she retired in September 2021, Clare Goldsberry reported on the plastics industry for more than 30 years. In addition to the 10,000+ articles she has written, by her own estimation, she is the author of several books, including The Business of Injection Molding: How to succeed as a custom molder and Purchasing Injection Molds: A buyers guide. Goldsberry is a member of the Plastics Pioneers Association. She reflected on her long career in "Time to Say Good-Bye."

Sign up for the PlasticsToday NewsFeed newsletter.

You May Also Like